On Venting


I am currently in the process of making elderflower Champagne : the above, while it may look like a photoshop airbrushed Scarlett Johansson in a Moet & Chandon advert, is in fact me, letting the air out of the bottles.

This is a very satisfying activity, because boy, does that stuff produce some gas! When I threw out the challenge to my fellow community gardeners, i forgot to mention that you have to let the pressure out very very s-l-o-w-l-y, or the above will happen, and you will lose the lot to your kitchen floor.

I have always been a ‘better out than in’ kind of girl : a bit given to impulsive behaviour : sometimes this is good, and fun, but most of the time it scares people and makes them run away. I remember an occasion when I was five, I was at school, and we were all walking along carrying chairs, and Amanda Straderick accidentally hit me with hers, and before I knew what I was doing, I bit her nose and made her cry. I had just acted on instinct : I couldn’t hit her because I was holding a chair, but I remember a few minutes later, when I wasn’t angry any more, begging her not to tell anybody because I didn’t want to get into trouble.

Now I am 44, I think it may be time to try and stop letting the top off some of my powerful emotions so quickly.  I calm down as quickly as I explode, but it’s not so easy for those caught in the crossfire. I found out yesterday that it  may have lost me someone I care about very much.

Leave a Reply

